Within my individualized reading plan, I am reading, Talking, Drawing, Writing Lessons for our Youngest Writers by Martha Horn and Mary Ellen Giacobbe. I have been reading about how to get children ready to write by using stories. Using stories encourages children to feel that their own thoughts are important and they can actually own their stories. As well as the fact that everyone has their own words to share. Some children may be reluctant to share; but with modeling and positive and safe communication, with each other, detailed stories can emerge. We all have stories and so we should learn to share them.

Being quite far in the year, I know that most of of students are already writing a sentence on their own. They may still need support with spelling, reminders of spacing and are writing simple structured 3-6 word sentences. Ex: I see the blue cat. or Six hens hop. They complete most of their writing in a journal, at the writing center and on sentence strips during guided reading. I want to encourage them that they can write more and do not have to be perfect to write. I want them to just share their thoughts on paper with a picture and words. I plan on giving my students an additional drawing and writing journal for creating and crafting written stories based on their oral stories. Writing individual stories and class stories is a goal of mine for teaching writing.

With all of this in mind I wanted to read some stories that my students are familiar with that could lead to them practicing the skill of retelling. So I decided to use different versions of Goldilocks and The Three Bears, ending with Jan Brett’s version, since we love her. I began last Friday and finished up reading the different versions of Goldilocks on Wednesday. The versions we read are listed below:

0439395453.jpgth.jpegth-1.jpeg

I also used a version from a LaidLaw basal reader titled, The Three Bears.

After each story we practiced retelling and as we read another we practiced comparing them to each other. It created some great conversations and the actions on the bears and Goldilocks and what they would have done in similar situations. I also had many stories shared of students not listening to their parents, walking in the woods, dressing for winter weather and eating soup. These stories were what I was hoping for. I shared a story each day to add another layer of storytelling, that was not related to the Goldilocks books.

On the last day I shared a story about being read to by my mother. I shared that I can still picture her reading a book to me. It was Pinocchio and it was an old copy that she was reading.  I shared that I can still see the pictures from the  big Golden book she read. I talked about how the pages wore torn and bend and I didn’t care, just because my mom was reading it.

 

3737649492_3cfbb70acb_z.jpg

 

This of course led into them wanting to tell me about the books that they like to be read to with at home. I let them know that we would be sharing stories and working on writing them down, like we are a author like Jan Brett or Joy Cowley (we love her too).

I began to talk to a couple of students yesterday about a story that they would like to write about as their first story in their new drawing and writing journal. I made some notes, so that I can remember what they (informally) conferenced with me about. I tried to retell back to students as they orally told me about stories from home. I tried to help them keep the story in order. I only made it through three students. I was not able to get to any story telling today. On Monday, with these three students I will begin modeling how to create detailed information for one part of their personal story, based on their retelling. I will model this with a story of my own in my own drawing and writing journal.

2 thoughts on “EVERYONE Has a Story to Share

  1. Shelly, I am reading, Talking, Drawing, Writing Lessons for our Youngest Writers by Martha Horn and Mary Ellen Giacobbe as well. I agree that using stories encourages children to feel that their own thoughts are important and they can actually own their stories. On page 11, the book talks about “storytelling or basically, talking is what just about all children can do when they come to school.” I think we need to allow time for children to talk more and we as teachers allow for listening time. If children can tell a story, they certainly can write about it. Yes, they may need help in kindergarten with spelling errors in the beginning but, it’s all a part of the learning process. If we as teachers listen, it will not only improve the children’s writing skills but it will also help answer some of the questions we as teachers have about their outside of school environment and what motivates them to learn.

    Like

  2. What a great idea to tie in reading different versions of the same text and then retelling the stories!!! I love that this can be used to connect your students with the idea that writers explore different ways of saying something, and that they might even borrow ideas from one another to retell a story a different way. It can also be used to look at how changing slight details in the story line creates a totally different aspect. I always enjoy reading about your classroom, it just seems like such a fun place to be and a great place to learn.

    Like

Leave a Reply

