Well, this week I continued writing stories with my students. I only started writing with five last week so my goal this was was to continue with them in hopes to have them finish their first story with words and illustrations. I also wanted to begin the writing process with at least 3 others. One of my most challenging students was really interested and eager to get his story told too, so I got him started as well.

This is the breakdown of what I am trying to get them to work through as authors and illustrators:

  1. Orally tell me a story they would like to share
  2. Conference/discuss how we can make the story more understandable for readers (setting, characters (names), beginning, ending, dialogue)
  3. Repeat the story (with my help) to ensure clear continuity
  4. Repeat
  5. Share oral story with the class
  6. Write their story in their story journal (I have them verbally repeat what they are writing (a lot) so they are making sure it makes sense and to ensure they are not leave out important parts.
  7. As they are writing I help them with when it is a good time for drawing a picture. It does not have to come at the end of a page.
  8. Check to make sure the words and the pictures go together and are clear for the reader to understand.
  9. Share the story with an other adult
  10. Share the story with the class.
  11. These four students below are on step 6, writing. It seems like I need 3 days to finish a story with my students. The stories have been between 4-6 sentences.

I had two girls finish their story today and they shared them with the class. All of the video passwords are abc.

This story is about Jayda’s discovery of her dog, Finn, in a basket of towels in the laundry room. I love how one of the listeners says, “Oh Jayda!” I had told the class earlier that Jayda was working hard on her laundry room illustration and that appliances are difficult to get right. I love how proper she is with reading her words. She was a little bit nervous, she normally is when she is reading someone else words as well. She is a good student, I was surprised to see her own words not put her completely at ease.

 

“(gasp) It’s pretty Destiny!”

The story that Destiny is telling is about when she and her mom go to her Paw Paws house. She tells about her dog named, Isabella and how she always wants to go too. This student is not mad, this is her demeanor at all times. She could be talking about the most exciting adventure about how The Easter Bunny invited her for tea and gave her a million dollars and she still not show any emotion. That is just her personality. She asked me all morning to read her story to the class and she was very pleased with her drawings. She worked very hard. She read her story to four adults, in two different classrooms, before reading it to the class, she was proud of what she had accomplished with this first story.

I also want to share Zachary telling his story to the class. He has been working very hard with retelling his story. He is still developing his concept of word and each day he and I practice retellings of nursery rhymes, poems and/or short stories. To have him tell his story this well to the class is a great achievement for him. He is not completely clear and their are some gaps, but it is a good beginning point. The password is abc.

 

7 thoughts on “I think we can, I think we can!

  1. As I read your post watch the wonderful videos, I can see what a great job you are doing with your students. It is amazing to see 5 year old children doing what they are doing. It’s truly magical.

    This week I had trouble with proofreading and editing with my students. I am beginning to think I need to help them out more. Instead of telling them to look through their work and find mistakes, maybe I should pull 3-4 students at a time and we do it together. They always like me helping me rather than doing it by themselves, especially if they are having trouble doing it.

    I did meet with my struggling writers and helped them more but my class as a whole didn’t like the editing part. I think next time I will get them to tell me what they wanted to say and I do most of the editing for them. At least for the first couple of times to model more!

    THANKS FOR SHARING!

    Like

  2. I love the oral story telling piece of your order of instruction. Having the students think through what they want to write about “telling the story with all the details” helped them not to leave out important parts of the story. I also loved the videos.

    Like

  3. Sharing their stories to an adult and then with the class is a great idea. They are building confidence by reading it first to an adult and building fluency by re-reading their text. IT also provides an opportunity for peer feedback and for their peers to hear other writers work.

    Like

  4. I love reading your posts and experiencing your journey of writing each week. It feels like we are sitting among your students through your way of explaining what took place in your classroom. I love the sense of pride in your students and how they enjoyed sharing their stories with you as well as their peers. I have listened to your passion when talking about Zachary this year and I was so excited to see you share his story this week.

    Like

  5. Shellly,
    I love loved your young students storytelling. I can tell that you are doing a great job teaching and nurturing them to be great writers and illustrators. I really liked the way the listening students responded as well. (Bravo!) I saw my little Braxton too. Great Job!

    Like

  6. These videos are powerful! Thanks for capturing the pride and awe of your young students as they support each other in becoming strong writers.

    I love that you focused on two very different kinds of kindergarten writers in your post: Destiny, who confidently puts letters and words on paper with detailed illustrations, and Zachary, who is learning to orally tell a good story before putting pencil to paper. Your choices as a teacher demonstrate your deep belief that ALL children are ready to write and that ALL children have important stories to tell about their lives. Creating a classroom where BOTH children feel valued and appreciated as writers says so much about the classroom writing culture you’re working hard to create.

    Like

Leave a Reply

