Every day, as teachers, we think about what steps can be taken next to ensure our students are learning everything they can and figuring out ways to teach those new things.  We are constantly evaluating our work and what we may be doing that is working and what we are doing that isn’t working as well as we thought!  As a teacher, one thing that has extremely helped me with valuing students work is the blog posts that we are contributing to each week.  As I look back over my entries that I wrote so far, comparing my first entry, Mrs. Dalton’s 3rd Grade Writers, compared to my entries throughout the postings, you can tell that my love for writing has increased.  On the first post, I just posted a few samples of their work and put it into one picture.  Even my text had a layout that was semi boring.  As I scroll through more recent posts, my blogs seem to have more life and more of the students involved.  Even adding videos to one of my blogs really helped the blog come to life.  Small Moments Make Big Ideas.  As you read my other blog posts, you can tell that my student get more involved because I am praising their work and they know their work is valued.  They are excited with each thing we are able to publish.

Personally, writing these blog posts has not only allowed me to grow as a teacher in writing but has allowed me to value the students work a lot more than I used to.  Before I would have completed an activity and valued it but for some reason, sharing your story with others seems to get you personally more involved and you can analyze your activity really think about what you were doing with your students.  I believe, as all teachers should, have faith in the students that they can create anything they put their minds to.  Writing these blog posts helped me see that and hold on to it.  If I had not written about our writing experiences, I probably wouldn’t be able to remember just how much my students did and how much they learned and we can’t forget the fun they have had.  I think another thing the blog posting has done for me is that it has helped me with sharing my writing.  It has helped me talk about what great work my students are doing and it allows others to see how proud I am of my students.
Doing these blog posts has been way more beneficial than simply writing a paper or entry to the professor and only the professor reading your words.  IT DEFINITELY DOESN’T MAKE IT AS IMPORTANT.  I don’t want that to sound mean but when writing to other teachers or other people going through the exact same thing you are, it makes a big difference.  I think sharing our stories has helped tremendously with our own writing because we can read other entries and it has helped professionally because we can use the other ideas that are being shared in our own classrooms.

Writing a blog post also allows us to reach out to our community and parents can see what wonderful things are going on in the classroom.  Parents could even contribute to the post.  I hope in the future I can use a blog in my classroom and the students can contribute to it and then parents can see what their child is doing on the blog!

Completing the posts and then having more than one person reply to your post has been very helpful, well for me it has!  I think hearing other ideas has also opened my mind and has helped me make my lessons better.  I think the blog posts are great because we are writing to become better writers, we are sharing our students work, we are thinking more deeply about our students work, we are analyzing our students work, we are thinking about future plans, we are learning from others, we are giving advice to others and we are simply becoming better teachers.  I don’t know if you could get all that when just writing to a professor and only the professor reading it!  Every day is a new day and we are learning new things from each blog post that we can take to our own classroom!

2 thoughts on “HOW BLOGGING HAS HELPED ME!

  1. Across each of the examples you offered, what struck me was just how much AUDIENCE matters to writers of all ages and abilities, including you! Writers write differently (and feel motivated to become stronger writers) when they are writing for an audience they care about–and about topics they care about. As writers share and read/hear each other’s writing, they naturally want to improve; they learn from and with each other. I’d like to think that’s what the multi-authored blog has been about to some degree: creating a community of teacher-writers where individuals feel comfortable to take risks as teachers and writers with the understanding that nine other colleagues are cheering you (and your students) on.

    I completely agree with your idea that writing about our classroom practice and students causes us to better understand and appreciate the progress students are making as learners. Writing makes us slow down long enough to actually NOTICE what’s happening in our classroom. So often we feel pulled in a million different directions at once that we rarely take/make time to analyze the small–but significant–things students are doing as writers. In some ways, I think this idea of “slowing down” is a gift for students too.

    Like

  2. Beth,
    Blogging has empowered us to become a strong community of educators who are not afraid to use their “voice” to share their perspective on issues through writing. These writings are so compelling to others to agree with us. We can use this tool to bring our perspective to our school, community, family and the whole wide world. Let’s do it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

