This week seemed to be a week to take it easy. We have been working on publishing our writing so much, this week I just asked my students to write.

Some students wrote about their lunch and some wrote a made up story. I felt the students had worked so hard the past few weeks, they needed to relax their hard-working brains.  Plus, there were a few students who didn’t get to finish their project from the previous week so I gave them time to finish it up.  The other students enjoyed just writing about whatever they wanted to write about.

I had a lot of sickness in my room as well this week. Two of the days I only had 8 or 9 students and I felt moving on with something that was important would hurt the ones that were not able to experience it!

After my students have several writing pieces, we will choose a piece to work on and they will have several to choose from. We may just spend our time on ways to expand our writing.

I still have a few students that are “not so much into writing” and we are working on trying to boost their confidence. Hopefully by the end of the year we will have that resolved. I feel just letting them write will help!

Every time I see the students stand up and share, I can’t help but think how much they have grown and how much my students, each year, would grow if I had known what I know now.  I would be able to expose them to all the possibilities of writing and then sharing with their classmates.

My advice is that even if you think you are running out of time for the writing that day, take even 5 minutes to let the students talk about their writing.  IT WILL ONLY HELP!  I haven’t done as much as I would like to with my students and they have grown so much.  I can’t imagine if I had 10 years experience with this under my belt.  I WOULD HAVE AUTHORS WRITING STORIES EVERY DAY, which is my goal with every single student now!

2 thoughts on “Just write!

  1. Sometimes as a teacher we have to make the decision as to when students have consistently worked really hard and need a break. I think that the time you gave your students this week to free write or catch up is just as meaningful as what you were doing. Everyone produced some form of writing and that is what matters, they are writing to become stronger, just like we did as teacher writers last semester. I am sure that the practice that they have done over the many weeks allowed them to be strong writers, even without a “real lesson.”

    Like

  2. I think that is was wonderful of you to just let them have the freedom to write whatever they wanted in whatever form they wanted this week. I agree that is would not have been productive to continue on with so many of your students absent. Hopefully the sickness will have passed and you can teach your next writing assignment as planned this week or you could just give them time and let them write again. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

